• Site Last Updated on Wednesday 10 January 2018, 13:22:29 IST

User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Bangalore, November 03, 2014 (News Team): Champions Tennis League today announced the induction of a Hyderabad franchise in the Southern Group of its inaugural edition. The Hyderabad franchise will replace the Chennai franchise with the players moving to the new city.

The matches in Hyderabad will be held on the 17th and 18th of November, 2014. The Chennai players Mark Philippoussis, Martina Hingis, Mikhail Youzhny and Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan will now represent the Hyderabad franchise.

Commenting on the change Vijay Amritraj said “We are delighted to welcome the city of Hyderabad in our inaugural edition of the Champions Tennis League. We have been in constant conversations with a variety of groups in the tennis loving city and we are confident that together we will be able to promote tennis in the region. The Chennai franchise requested us to move their participation to the following year and we would seriously consider their participation in Season 2 after the completion of our inaugural season.”

The final franchise line up at CTL 2014 are:

North Group is New Delhi, Chandigarh and Mumbai

South Group is Hyderabad, Bangalore and Pune





Other articles in Sports

Star India's Multi screen coverage of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games receives thunderous response from sports fans 01 Sep 2016

Mahindra Racing in Action at the Buddh International Circuit 10 Feb 2016

Aamir Khan to sing the National Anthem at the opening day of Star Sports Pro Kabaddi 29 Jan 2016

U Mumba's Dream Run for Swades 18 Jan 2016

Lovepreet Sangha and Satender Ved Pal to Debut at WWE Live™ India 22 Dec 2015

- Entire Category -